History

Key Milestones in CJL History

1947

Jewish student population grows significant and Student Hebrew Association forms; becomes B'nai Brith Hillel Foundation in 1948

1961

Students come together into Yavneh House, operating under the auspices of Hillel

1971

Hillel offices and those of other chaplaincies open in Murray-Dodge; Yavneh moves to Stevenson Hall

1984

Hillel submits a proposal to President William G. Bowen. In 1988, the university endorses a new plan for Jewish life, unifying the activities of Stevenson Hall, Hillel, and Yavneh.

1993

The "Center for Jewish Life" (CJL) opens, representing a Hillel-university partnership, an enormous opportunity for Jewish students.

Today

the CJL reaches between 80-95% of Jewish students on campus each year, helping them to find meaning and community in their tradition.

Stephenson Hall - 1971
CJL - 1983
CJL - Today